Sign up for feeds



  • Share:
March 29, 2016
Elgin Image Award Winners: On March 17, the City of Elgin’s Image Commission recognized individuals, organizations and businesses who positively impacted Elgin’s image at the 24th Annual Image Awards. Winners included Collin Blount, Elgin Garden Club, Downtown Neighborhood Association of Elgin’s Design Committee, Mary Alice Masonic, DNA Harvest Market, Jeffrey Pierce, Samuel Olson, Ron Meyer and Tim Meyer, Elgin Community College’s Culinary Arts and Hospitality Program, ECC Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society’s “Spartan Food Pantry”, Tanner Bednar, and Elgin History Museum and Grindstone Productions’ Project 2-3-1.

EPD’s Stingley Recognized in Springfield: Elgin Police Department Social Service Coordinator JoAnn Stingley was recently recognized on the floor of the Illinois house by Congressman Peter Roskam for her efforts to raise funds for EPD programs, including crisis intervention counseling and legal referals for community resources,  over the course of her 24-year tenure with the police department.

2016 Leader Luncheon Award Nominees: YWCA Elgin announced the nominees for the annual Leader Luncheon Awards on May 12. The women community leaders were nominated by colleagues and peers in the following categories: Arts: Elizabeth Bellaver, Darlene Hulin, Candace Kresmery, Gareth Mann Sitz, Erin Rehberg, Sara Sitzer; Business/Professions: Katherine Hurt, Sharon Konny and Kate Volarath; Communication/Technology: Molly Center; Education: Rebecca M. Jurs, Danae Mollitor, and Brittney Walker; Public Service: Miriam Anderson Lytle and Ana Lalley; Social Services: Judy Cornelius, Tina A. Link, Vivian Maly, Karen Oswald and Francis Teti-Teal; Community Service: Jean Bednar, Diane Campbell, Danielle Henson, Margaret Keen, Sherry Kinser, Kay Loeloff, Cherie Murphy and Catherine Olson; Racial Justice: Rev. Janie McCutchen, Angelene Naw and Brittney Walker.

ESO Named Tops in Illinois: For the fourth time, the Illinois Council of Orchestras named the Elgin Symphony Orchestra the 2016 Professional Orchestra of the Year. A panel of judges drawn from the Illinois Council of Orchestras Board of Directors and of independent professional musicians reviewed nominations representing orchestras, youth orchestras and chamber ensembles from throughout Illinois.

Metra Awarded $14M Transportation Grant: Metra plans to replace a 135-year-old single-track bridge across the Fox River in Elgin with a two-track structure after winning a $14 million federal Transportation Investment Generating Economic Recovery (TIGER) grant. Construction is expected to begin in 2017.
Jason Pawlowski, Director - Communications & Events
jpawlowski@elginchamber.com, (847) 741-5660